It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill.

There's a school of thought supporting the expenditure of tax funds towards promoting healthy lifestyle practices and disease prevention over spending exorbitantly on treatment of the sick. While in theory this might sound good, it's practical applications are far from ideal. I disagree with the above statement and this essay will discuss my views regarding the same. Firstly, disease prevention is a step in the right direction when it comes to promoting health for all. In today's era, where fast food is cheaper than its healthier alternative and where the preference is to order food from restaurants over cooking at home, awareness needs to be created over how detrimental this choice is. Secondly, creating emphasis on building immunity and living healthy also reduces the load on hospitals to care for them, thus in turn saving further government expenses. For instance, advertisements can be directed at the general population urging them to adopt regular exercise and choose food that provides energy over fried food. Meanwhile, cutting down the funding for treatment of the sick puts all effort spent on promoting healthy living to waste. Ill patients with insufficient treatment will spread disease regardless of any practice that one adopts to stay healthy. Hence primary focus needs to be put on curing any source of illness and controlling the outcome. In today's times of superbugs and antibiotic-resistant bacteria, sole maintenance of one's health doesn't get the job done. Apt treatment and isolation of the sick needs to be focused upon, which requires proper facilities and public funding to build and maintain them. To conclude, focusing the expenditure on promoting healthy practices rather than spending on treating the ill is not the best way to ensure health of a community. Treatment of the ill requires more attention and funding in comparison.