It is more important for students to read books about real events than it is for them to read novels.

It is argued by some people that in recent times we have too many things to choose from. I agree with this, but having so many options enables consumers to purchase more comparatively priced and higher quality products. There is some truth in the argument that these days we have far too many choices which can be overwhelming; however, I think that having so many options is a positive phenomenon because it makes businesses compete with each other. This means that consumers can benefit greatly from prices coming down. To illustrate this, over the past two decades Ryanair and EasyJet budget airlines considerably reduced the cost of airfares for flights all over Europe. Before this, there was only one airline to choose from exorbitant costs. Presently, many more budget airline options are serving every European destination with incredible bargains for customers. Another reason why I believe that more choice is beneficial is that the quality of products has improved in recent years. This is because with so many businesses vying for a customer's attention, their main selling points are not only low prices but also much higher quality. For instance, smartphone costs have decreased in the past 5 years and handsets are more powerful and more durable than ever before. This is down to the fact that manufacturers have focused on quality control to compete with rival products. This has certainly been beneficial to consumers and would not have been possible with one or two companies monopolising the smartphone market. To conclude, despite the argument that there is too much freedom of choice nowadays, I think this is a positive trend as the plethora of options allows customers to buy inexpensive items without compromising on quality.