It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

There is a trending argument that whether or not national history is far significant in relation to world history. In my opinion, none of these should be dominant by the other and both subjects should be well enhanced in youngster’s curriculum. Studying the history of one’s own country is surely an essential aspect of their educational education. Whilst seems tedious and often theoretical-based, having throughout insight into what happened in the past plays an indispensable role in forming a child’s patriotism. For example, knowing how heroic one’s ancestors fought against intruders will build students’ admiration towards them as well as their country and culture. Children will treasure their own origin and will take pride in protecting it. Thus, nationalism is not just a privilege; it is each’s responsibility to perceive and preserve their hometown’s tradition and identity. On the other hand, studying no more than local history and ignoring other history events around the world is inadequate for learners as all of them are impacted by each others and each case teaches students different aspects of the world. Take Vietnam’s August Revolution (Cách Mạng Tháng 8 in Vietnamese) for example, only with the declaration of ending the war that Vietnam has the chance to turn the table and in the war. Other events such as The Great Depression or Women Suffrage in the US are underlying economic and political lessons respectively. And so, international history should not be neglected from schools’ educational program. In conclusion, while domestic history gives children identity pride, world history completes it and offer further knowledge in other topics. Therefore, I believe the significance of them both cannot be brought into comparison to see which one is more necessary because they have distinctively equal meanings to children.