It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. with this view?

Some people claim that technological devices such as television, mobile phones and other entertaining electronic items will have a tremendous impact on society. Furthermore, they are even worried that traditions and cultural customs will diminish. In my opinion, I believe that those fears are mainly unfounded. However, I would not totally disagree that there is some truth to those people’s notions. On the one hand, technology makes is possible for people to stay in contact with others who share interests, such as, traditions, religions and other cultural values. In other words, many members of our society lack friends who share the same amount of dedication towards specific traditions. This may be one of the results of moving to another country, where the culture is completely different compared to the one in their land of origin. A study conducted in the US has shown that communicating on the internet about specific interests has increased the overall happiness of such people. On the other hand, using technological devices had the disadvantage that people stop looking for local communities who share the same field of interest. Furthermore, authors say, that those who share their cultural value online do not tend to integrate in their new surroundings. Consequently, they might feel lonely and fail to live their traditions in real life. In conclusion, there are two sides to technology. Even though I agree to a great extent that technology benefits and connects people of the same culture, I also see disadvantages. People may feel isolated from their local communities, which may lead to loneliness.