It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. with this view?

Since the second half of the last century, there has been a pragmatic shift in technological advancements. People's opinion differ as to whether technological development will cause traditional cultures to be lost. While there are various arguments against this assertion, I completely agree that the development of technology will eventually lead to traditional cultures to be lost. The advances in technology that have driven industrialisation have certainly contributed to the disappearance of traditional lifestyles. In pre-industrialisation Malaysia, generations of the same families grew up in the same village. It is possible to say that they shared a close-knit relationship with a strong sense of identity as they shared similar customs, traditions and belief. However, due to the nation’s industrial revolution, these families and communities fell apart. People migrated to cities in search of work opportunities, thus abandoning their traditional lifestyles. Nowadays, most people barely know even their closest neighbour. Furthermore, another reason why I support the notion that technological development will finally result in the loss of traditional culture is that it paves the way for the demise of traditional skills. Traditional skills, such as pottery-making, is typically passed down the generation. Parents teach their children these skills where the younger ones learn the tips and tricks of the skills from their elders. Nonetheless, that is not the scenario today as youngsters are rather too obsessed with their mobile phones to even bother learning the traditional skills. A good illustration of this would be Wayang Kulit, a dying art as fewer young people are inclined to learn the skills of performing this shadow puppetry. In conclusion, I completely agree that progress in the field of technology will inevitably bring about the loss of traditional culture. Given the situation, the revival of traditional cultures is essential before its too late.