It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries.

As it is nigh on impossible to help everyone in the world, some people believe that governments ought to place sole importance on their citizens. Personally, I disagree with this school of thought for several reasons. Firstly, it would be wrong to turn a blind eye to people in need, regardless of where they are in the world. This is because, when it comes to helping others, it is the participation that counts, not the result. Just like every other process that require each and every citizen to partake in, such as a presidential election where one vote cannot determine who is elected or the fight against climate change where one person starting consuming less energy can hardly exert any discernible effect, the enormity of the crusade to help everyone in the world should never stop us or any government from participating in. To add further credence to my assertion, I note the fact that governments that offer support to people living beyond their borders also benefit. Take, for example, the relationship between Vietnam and Japan. In 2009, the latter country was battered by a cataclysmic earthquake that claimed thousands of lives and destroyed the majority of houses in a large area. The Vietnamese government, without any hesitation, sent thousands of tons of rice, millions of dollars, and hundreds of doctors to help Japanese citizens recover from such a catastrophe. In return, Japanese government subsidized lots of infrastructure projects that acted as a catalyst to foster economic growth in Vietnam. In conclusion, governments around the world should continue supporting those who live beyond their geographical borders. I take this view on account of the fact that it would be wrong to stop trying to help people, regardless of location, and that it is of direct benefit to every country that decides to do so.