It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is crucial to raise a child into a good individual in the society. It is common believe that employing a punishment is the best way to establish a good behaviour and maintaining discipline in children. I completely agree with this idea. Parents while punishing must be careful as excess or wrong penalty will lead to negative impact on child’s personality or mental and physical health. They should avoid scolding and smacking children. Many people suggest it is enough to establish a behaviour in a child to distinguish between right and wrong, whereas kids are not enough mature to understand this distinction and they make mistakes intentionally or sometimes unintentionally. If they do not get any feedback they tend to make same mistakes next time. Penalizing will make them avoid the same mistake again and whenever any bad intentions come to their mind, their body will reflexively remind them of past response for similar action. For instance, if a kid makes a drawing on the wall asking them to clean the wall as a little recompense will make them realize this is not the right place to draw. Therefore punishment will be a part of teaching children to be better. Now the question is what kinds of punishment is useful or acceptable and whether it should be in form of physical or verbal? Researchers believe these both must be a very last option for any parents to opt. A study published by Institute of clinical psychology, University of Karachi state that wrong and excess retribution make a negative impression on kid’s mind which leads to mental distress and suppression of positive attributes in child. Referring the above example of wall drawing if the kid was scolded or smacked, chances are he might take drawing as a wrong act and stop drawing. For this reason, parents must act wisely in opting response to teach them a positive lesson. To sum up punishment is an essential part of upbringing of youngsters it will improve the discipline and help them to distinguish between right and wrong provided that parents applied it sensibly and judiciously.