It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

With the advent of technological tools and mass media, children are being exposed at an earlier age to many world issues. Personally, I think that they should be able to differentiate between right and wrong so that they become well-behaved adults with good ethics. I can identify three ways that parents and teachers can adopt ensure that children sport good behaviour. Firstly, I feel that teaching a child to recognise the good from the bad should start at an early age. Depending on the legal system of some countries, children are expected to be able to tell right from wrong by 7 to 15 years, age at which they are held responsible for their actions. Children learn most from their family members and teachers, and hence these people should should make use of simple life situations to show children how to do the right thing. For instance, when a 7-years old child is throwing pebbles at a dog, or when a 12-years old student is hitting his classmate, they should be nicely taught how to behave properly. With regards to the sort of punishment they should be given for misbehaving, child psyhologists agree that shoud be dealt with patience and positive strategies such as explaining to them the consequences if they don’t behave well or giving them reasonable extra homework. Studies have shown that hitting a child as a way of punishing them only makes them more aggressive and angry at their persecutor. Hence, this should be abandoned. Moreover, another strategy could be giving them more attention when they are behaving correctly so as to boost their self-esteem. In conclusion, I am a firm believer that children should be taught how to behave in the right manner from an early age because this eventually reflects later in their adult life. Teachers and parents should use positive reinforcement strategies to deal with misbehaviours on behalf of children.