It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is crucial to teach an individual at a young age how to differentiate between good and bad. In my opinion, I totally agree that a system of punishments plays a key role in helping young children understand this difference. Towards this purpose, teachers and parents ought to impose constructive punishments to build the right moral and ethical behavior in a child. Children can learn a number of moral and ethical issues via sanctions. Even though parents could explain their children the reasons behind an ethical behavior, the child may not be in a position to comprehend the distinction. Under such situation, instead of imposing harsh punishments which might inevitably entail many negative consequences unintended by the parents, mild punishments for misbehavior tend to enable a child to tell right from wrong. For instance, in several developing countries, young children are often punished with the job of planting trees in a public park or cooking food for the disabled in a nursing home. In these ways, a conscience is effectively fostered in a young charge. In spite of the need for penalties to discipline a young child, corporal and verbal punishments will probably have detrimental effects on children’s personalities. This makes many children more rebellious which consequently results in refusal to listen to an elder, for example. Instead, punishments should be implemented in such a way that they are constructive in nature. To illustrate, a child ought to be punished to fit his crime which would see a charge being made to clean up graffiti he has drawn, apologize to someone he has hurt, or pick up rubbish he has dropped. These sanctions help him realize his mistakes and therefore develop emotional maturity to respect others. In conclusion, punishments are highly required for the moral and ethical education of a child. Without mildly constructive punishments, children would be unable to distinguish between right and wrong. This would make a society less stable and sustainable.