It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Learning the difference between right and wrong at an early age is essential for children’s growth and development. While some people claim that punishment is an effective way to ensure them to do the right thing, I personally believe it is not necessarily a good method of teaching children good values. First of all, punishment might hurt a child’s feelings and thereby create negative impact on its heart and soul. Little kids don’t know any better, so grown-ups need to be more forgiving. For example, if children say inappropriate words, it would be better for parent or teacher to tell them it is not right to use those words, explain to help them truly understand why that behaviour is wrong. If a kid does something wrong out of innocence, blindly grounding him or order him to stand in a corner will only make the child even more confused and plan the seed of hatred which is not healthy for their growth. Secondly, punishment is not as humane or effective as education is. Parents and teachers should set good examples for children to follow. Children need proper guidance. Recent reseach shows that 80% of children who receive guidance and advise from their parents are often regarded as good students and behave in a good demeanour. In contrast, punished children are more likely to resent it and behave badly as a way to release the stress from punishment. Despite such benefits, some proponents claim that punishment is something that every child has to be through on the way to become a good person. In fact, punishment should be based on reason. It has to be light, and not too harsh. And it must serve the purpose of education. For example, a child breaking a glass should be asked to replace it. He or she should be encouraged to earn money to buy a new glass by helping their parents do the housework. This kind of punishment should be promoted as it is reasonable while effectively sending the message that everyone must be responsible for all of their mistakes. In conclusion, punishing children is not what parents and teachers should consider as a top priority. Guiding and making the positive message clear to them matters above all else.