It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Every individual has been born with certain ability in life, which they develop to show their expertise. Certain classes of society think that, they can train anyone to build a particular skill. However, I am of the opinion that skills can be developed later in life and it is not necessary to be born with it. It is said that to be a sports star or musician you need to be born with the expertise of it. Those children who show an interest in sport and music in the early years perform better than those who do not. Indeed, talent in sports and music needs dedication and only those who have an interest should pursue. For instance, Rafael Nadal, a sports star is considered an epitome of Lawn Tennis and is also known as “the King of Clay”. But this did not happen overnight as he has been learning to play on clay courts since his childhood. From his debut until now we have seen him win 9 Grand slams trophy of French Open, a clay court tournament without any difficulty. Therefore, being born with the talent is an important aspect to excel in any given field. Although, been born with certain talent is crucial as the individual may struggle due to lack of skills. But, an individual can be trained for any desired skill be it sports or music. As per the book by “Malcolm Gladwell, Outliers: The Story of Success” we need 10, 000 hours of continuous practice to develop any talent. This book provides evidence that talent can be developed with constant effort and will. Also, Robin Sharma the author of the Monk who sold his Ferrari, suggest that a habit can be developed in 21 days. These habits can cater in any form of skill sets as your brain is programmed to perform any function. This goes as per the saying by Aristotle a Greek philosopher, “we are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then is not an act, but a habit”. These examples show that habits are required to develop a talent for sports and musicians. In conclusion, indeed, is important for any individual to be born with certain talent as it will be easy to develop the expertise. But, being born with does not mean that talent cannot be learnt later. There are books which have been written after rigorous research which mention that talent can be created with the help of deliberate habits to program our brain. In my opinion we should not only consider talent at birth, but the one’s developed after training.