It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? what will the impact be on the lives of the future generations?

Today, modern society, most people use phones or computers to exchange information instead of writing letters through the email or post compared with the twentieth century. This trend is caused by a number of reasons, therefore, a lot of negative effects will arise. Regarding the causes, first, most people realize that hand written letters compared to any other social applications are extremely slow and out - dated. People, nowadays, can change decisions in the last minute without taking hours and days looking forward to a reply, but sometimes it is not the best. Second, due to the development of the tourism industry and transportation, people often prefer to travel around the world, so checking online mail and replying is more convenient and less time consuming. One further factor is because the quality of paper and ink, write letters are often difficult to maintain and takes up a lot of space to hold them, but with online application we can keep them for a long time without worry about loose them. This situation has some impact on the future generations, there are both positive and negative effects occur. First, as we know paper is made from wood so stopping paper will help protect the environment. Moreover, the money spent of panting and producing paper is not small, so it also saves costs and can be used to barter for another purpose. Second, although it seems like a good solution, this trend also loses a culture of the country and may not be known by the younger generation. In conclusion, the cause of this trend is the development of society and its impact on the lives of the future generations is in need of attention.