Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

School is a place where people from different walks of life come together under one roof to learn, socialise and create a foundation for their future lives. These institutions offer same set of tools for all without any discrimination. However, the freedom granted does command responsibility in exchange. I believe having a uniform dress code at learning institutes are a must. It gives students a sense of belonging and teaches them to respect the regulations. Irrespective of where they come from, a common uniform makes them feel part of a close knit social group. This feeling gives them a lot of confidence and mental support to individuals in a society. It is very important to cultivate the habit of respecting peers, no matter where they come from. For example, the school I went to, had a uniform and it gave me immense pride each time I wore it. All students unitedly had an urge to compete with other schools in various inter-school events. For those, who do not mandate students to wear a specific form of dress, the culture of such places is very unstable. Allowing people to wear their choice of clothing can create a lot of disturbance in the society. Young guys and girls from the higher strata will flaunt their rich and flashy outfits. This can divide the batch into rich and poor peer groups and there will be no information exchange among each other. It can adversely impact the mental state of many people at a very young age. Instead of focusing on gaining knowledge, students may give a lot more importance to money, what they wear and how others judge them in the society. To sum up, I think it is best for schools to make it mandatory for students to wear school uniforms.