It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents.

Many students are faced with the dilemma of whether to live in a university dormitory or at home with parents. From my perspective, a dormitory is evidently the better option for most students. On the one hand, there is a common belief that living with parents is better for students’ personal development. People may argue that students living at home may fully concentrate on their academic study because their parents would normally support them in other activities, such as doing household tasks. However, it is irrefutable that in this way, some students may become over-reliant on their parents in most of their daily activities, and thus lose the ability of living independently in the future. By contrast, students who live in dormitories have to take care of themselves in all aspects of life. Therefore, they may acquire the vital skills of a self-reliant person, ranging from financial management and problem solving to meal planning and home management, all of which are essential to foster the all-round personal development of this group of students. On the other hand, there are several distinct advantages of choosing on-campus residences. The most evident advantage is that students who choose this type of accommodation would have extremely easy access to libraries and various learning sources that are readily available at school. Another obvious benefit is that those living in a students’ residence are exposed to a diverse environment with people from various social and cultural backgrounds. From this, students are better prepared to live in this multi-cultural world. From the issues outlined above, one can conclude that living inside the school campus is apparently a better choice than living at home with parents.