It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents.

Should students stay in hostels or should they continue to live in their family house? This topic has somewhat become debatable. I strongly agree with the premise that students must not live in their homes during student life. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss why living on campus is more effective and how living further away from the college can be a potential impediment to studies. To begin with, the biggest advantage of living in an on campus facility like a hostel is that students have access to all the necessary amenities like libraries, computer labs etc. Hence, they can conduct their studies more effectively. The ambience that on-campus residential facilities provide is also very conducive for studying. In addition to that, since hostels are normally situated in the same vicinity as the College campus, daily commute becomes very easy and is not at all hectic. In contrast, living in your parent’s house while studying has several inherent problems. For instance, in order to study productively and effectively, right environment is of absolute importance. Unfortunately, a well-disciplined environment of that of a classroom cannot be replicated at home. Students might spend more than usual time on extracurricular activities like playing video games, watching T. V. , excessively staying out at night with friends etc. Which may consequently impact their grades. To conclude, students must prefer to live in hostels instead of staying in their own house during college years. This will allow them to focus more efficiently on studies and they can also refrain themselves from engaging in unnecessary activities that may have a deteriorating impact on their study life.