It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents than to choose jobs that are different from their parent s jobs

The world has countries, states, and cities speaking an ample number of languages of different varieties and accents. Although it is an added benefit for a person if he has the knowledge of the local language he is working at or travelling in, some people feel that these are not the only reasons for one to familiarise oneself with foreign languages. In my opinion, I believe that the awareness of non-native languages should not be restricted to a workplace or a travel destination. Admittedly, on the one hand, knowing languages of the area we reside in and are employed at is a necessity considering that the modern work culture does not focus at a particular place or involve employees of just a region. In other words, workers of varied languages tend to come together under the same roof and work together towards a common goal. Hence being familiar with foreign languages enhances communication and helps in creating a bond with people of other cultures and traditions. For example, IT companies hire people from different regions of the country and most of the time it's the language that connects and brings them closer to one another. On the other hand, despite mentioning the above points, I believe languages are not limited or learned just for survival. A language has the potential of improving an individual's personality to a large extent. For instance, languages develop and increases one's respect towards people of another region residing in the society. Furthermore, language familiarity encourages one to access books, writings, and scripts inscribed in a foreign language, thereby intellectually enhancing thoughts and ideas which are reflected in their lifestyle. In conclusion, I think possessing knowledge of other languages not only favours at the residing place or the workplace, but will improve one's personality, bringing about a change in his thought process and way of life.