It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, the rate at which individuals stay a year at home within the period of completing high school and enrolling in college has become widely popular. Therefore, this essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this action. To begin, the advantages are noteworthy. One of these evident benefits is that it gives an opportunity to acquire a vocational skill, such as hairdressing, fixing of computer hardware and installing software. The knowledge gained during this time would be very useful in the future. For example, in Singapore, teenager often wait for one year before entering university and learn skills to enable them to make extra cash in school. Another notable merits are that it gives sufficient time to plan and decide on a suitable career path. This means the person has plenty time to select the best course to study in the university. For instance, a 2018 special survey by West African bureau of statistics reported that in the region, 80 percent of students accepted to have selected a better course from staying at home a year before entering higher institution. This reveals the extent to which one year off has significantly helped them make a better choice in their future. On the other hand, the disadvantages of this decision are abound. Firstly, spending most part of the day at home can be monotonous. The individual tend to be bored quite often because of less engaging activities or lack of responsibilities. Moreover, the individual can also be involved in crime related offence. This trend is expected to continue if nothing urgently is done. For example, according to a report by the New York times, there is a significant increase in crime for the past 5 years and most of it is attributed to persons who are waiting to enter university. In conclusion, waiting one year to enroll into college has its advantages and disadvantages. The benefits include sufficient time to plan for a suitable career path and acquire vocational skill, while the negative effects are boredom and involving in crime.