Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Since the advent of online networking platforms, there has been an ongoing debate on its effect on individuals and the general public. Some say these social platforms have a bad influence on humankind, this essay disagree completely with this statement because these platforms have eliminated distance barrier and also help to create an online community of like-minds. Although, social interactive websites have reduced face to face communication among people, it has removed distance limitation the public suffered years back. These days, with the help of social networking sites, conversation is made possible between two or more persons in different geographical locations. For example, business meetings can take place between partners located in different continents over Skype, moreover, all they need to connect are their Skype IDs, computers and internet supplies. In summary, online interactive platforms have bring people together more than it has separated us. In addition, these social platforms have helped to create community of like-minds. Furthermore, people with shared professional or political interest have formed an online interactive forums which have helped in forging their course. For instance, LinkedIn is a professional networking website where professionals of diverse background interact with one another without being in the same location. Twitter is another example; in Nigeria, Twitter is also known to be a protest platform for whoever wants to speak up against any policy of the government. In conclusion, I believe that social media has impacted its users, as well as the entire public positively because it has eliminated distance between us and has given the people an opportunity to commune effectively.