It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, taking a year break before joining the university for students rose in popularity. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such a method. To begin with the positive, a crucial advantage that having a gap year before university is that they provide recreational time to the students. This is because students usually have limited time to do recreational activities such as art and music due to their commitments to studies and exams. In contrast, going to the corresponding universities without having a gap year may increase the risk of having under-performance if there is no balance between schoolwork and enjoyment. Besides having time to relax, they will have the chance to travel during the break. As travelling is one the most efficient way to boost confidence, they will become more self-reliant adults. Nevertheless, having a gap year does present some problems. For instance, some students are extremely independent, but when they are away from home for a long holiday, they can be stressful and lonely due to homesickness. Considering the separation from family members is a stressful situation, it is no wonder that even the strongest student sometimes encounters an emotional burden for it. Another significant disadvantage of this break is becoming the victims of scams while away from family. Unlike living with the family, scammers can easily take advantage form youngsters as there is no adult to monitor and take care of them. In conclusion, although a year break before going to university is beneficial in terms of having time to relax and the opportunity to travel, it is important to consider that they also promote some students’ separation anxiety and are arguably not as safe as staying with the family.