It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this. ?

Off recent, the common trend is having a year gap between completion of high school and commencing higher education. This time is usually loaded with a lot of activities like engaging in paid jobs, traveling, skill acquisition or interest exploration but these youngsters can as well develop some bad habits if they are not well guided. This essay will then discuss the strengths and drawbacks of this development. There are numerous merits to having a year break following secondary school education and before beginning higher learning pursuit. Firstly, the students when engaged in paid jobs gives them the opportunity to financially support their education. Higher education is a capital intensive project and these school leavers are able to save tangibly to relieve their sponsors of some expenses. Secondly, they are opportuned to acquire soft skills needed for better interaction in the larger society and they are able to build their CV with working experience. Thirdly, this exposure assist them to be more judicious in spending and appreciate their guardian uniquely because they now know the effort exerted to get money no matter how little. Lastly, it is a good time to rejuvenate from rigorous academic activities of high school such as several hours of lectures, assignments and possibly explore their interests. Finally, the design of having a break to do something different from academics while awaiting higher education admission is a great one if used judiciously with good guidance having considered the myriads of merits outlined. Despite the numerous advantages, there are some disadvantages. To begin with, these adolescents having been exposed to some freedom and access to acquire fund may find it difficult to return to study. They may loose the value or interest attached to academics and feel contented with the financial strength that the paid jobs offer. Furthermore, 12 calendar month is a long time to enjoy those liberties if they are not closely guided. They may be exposed to various vices like drugs, stealing, sexual assaults just to mention a few. This may make a well tamed child becoming irresponsible. In conclusion, having a year off following the completion of high school before commencing higher institution is on the increase because of many benefits it offers. Although, there are some cons to this new trend if the child is not given adequate guidance.