It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a yearly time off from education after completing school and before going for higher studies in colleges is trending nowadays. This has its own set of merits such as pupil get a break from their monotonous school routine and the demerits includes the loss of interest towards academics. To begin with, students opting for a sabbatical get a relaxation time from their school curriculum. In other words, the pupils get time to analyze their own interests and subjects which they would like to pursue in the university. Moreover, they also get a chance to go on expeditions to explore the world and the various cultures in it which helps them to break their routine. For instance, in the United States of America the students go on spring break before entering college which gives them ample time for planning for their graduation as well as recreation activities. On the other hand, being away from books for a long period can lead to a loss of interest among youngsters. In other words, children tend to reject studies after coming from a long vacation as they want a similar lifestyle as they were having during their time off leading to a conflict at home. Furthermore, it has been also observed by the Department of Education that students who go for long trips after school tend to fall prey to criminal activities and end up becoming delinquents themselves. Thus, wandering away before going to college is not advisable for the youth. In conclusion, taking a year off between finishing school and going to university is advantageous as it gives children a pause from their education and school. However, spending too much time away from studies also decreases the number of juveniles with interest towards higher studies.