It has often been suggested that the reintroduction of capital punishment would deter the ever increasing rate of serious crime. What is your view? Do you think that capital punishment should be reinstated?

Over recent years, the rate of crime has dramatically increased in many countries around the world. It has been suggested that the reintroduction of the death penalty would be an effective deterrent against the growth of serious crime, but several arguments have been put forward about this issue. In this essay I will examine these arguments and then give my own opinion. Firstly, capital punishment does not seem to reduce crime rates. The most recent survey of the relation between the death penalty and homicide rates was conducted for the UN and concluded that there is no scientific evidence that capital punishment deters people from committing crime. In fact, death penalty states continue to have higher crime rates than states that have abolished it. This is probably due to the fact that many criminals either do not expect to be caught or do not think about the consequences of their actions, since most murders are committed impulsively. Therefore, capital punishment does not appear to have a deterrent effect on the level of crime. Secondly, the death penalty is an inhuman and degrading punishment that violates human rights, in particular the right to life. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights states that everyone has the inalienable right to life and should not be killed by another person nor by government. However, capital punishment is still practised in many countries, such as the United States or China, where the death penalty is regarded as a highly effective measure that provides a sense of justice for victims. It is certainly true that victims and their families have the right to justice, but states that do not have the death penalty demonstrate how to administer justice without ignoring the dignity of the individual. For example, Spain adopts long prison sentences, after which the prisoner has the possibility of being released. An execution always inflicts physical and psychological cruelty and it undermines the right to life. Finally, capital punishment entails the risk of executing innocent people. Although criminal justice systems are supposed to be perfect, they have serious flaws and prosecutors as well as jurors can all make mistakes. A recent study has found that in the USA over 150 people had been released from death row because they were innocent of the crime for which they were convicted. This is a clear evidence that such mistakes are not only possible in the criminal justice system but they are also reversible when the death penalty has not been practiced. On the contrary, had they been executed there would have been nothing to do and the state would have been guilty of killing innocent people. In conclusion, there are several arguments concerning the reintroduction of the death penalty. Taking everything into consideration, I would argue that capital punishment is unacceptable in our society and it should not be reinstated not only because it does not impact crime rates but also because it is a violation of the most fundamental human right that is the right to life.