It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred.

In the last decades, many fields of our society have had a rapid development which has brought a several changes with it. In today’s society it is necessary to get the right people into the right seats. However, older workers may set in their ways and potentially against changes, I would still consider the importance of their valuable experience in all workplaces. Broadly spoken, elder workers gained knowledge during all their work life, and this is a benefit that has to be kept in every environment. Despite having a deep and modern knowledge acquired during the studies can be really helpful, hands on experience is really valuable for every kind of job. For example, An Engineer who used to work in a construction industry for almost 20 years, he will be more competent and prolific in dealing with issues and challenges that he might facing during his career. For this reason, although workers over 50 are not very responsive to change, they are still really useful. Moreover, older people are more reliable and respectful than younger workers. That can be seen with the trend of many department store in the UK to take on older people. This act of behaviors are really important in the prosperity in any kind of working environment. Furthermore, despite the progress of business has to be stimulated, social reasons like employment of people from different age groups is still really crucial for the security of our societies. A slower but sustainable development has to be granted in order to maintain the right balance among the people of a whole community. On the other hands, there are a number of job roles that enforce employers to employ younger workers. Since physiologists confirmed that the memory declines with age for people, it will be fruitless to appoint an older worker in specific industries. For example, technological industry that requires a person who is capable of dealing with a numerous amount of numbers, calculation, systems and information which are more available with younger employees than older workers. In conclusion, I believe despite employing older people might be a challenge in some particular jobs due to some reasons such as inflexibility to change, they can still be very useful and producers in many kinds of job environment for their substantial and valuable experience. In future I think corporates will get better at equalizes opportunities between younger and older workers to achieve better outcomes.