It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and for this reason, younger workers are to be preferred.

These days, the ideas in modern job environments have been changed, thus it is believed that workers over 50 will not respond quickly to this and it is better to employ younger people as replacements. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view. To begin with, there are several reasons for employers to use older workers at work place. Firstly, it is certainly true that older employees have more work experiences than younger people that are indispensable in any environment. Obviously, in addition to necessary knowledge of a job at workplace, experience is also a thing which employers need and this factor can be satisfied completely by older employees. Secondly, loyalty factor is also connected with older workers. Undoubtedly, workers over 50 often tend to find stable jobs, whereas young people don’t have trend of working in a kind of job for a long period of time. However, young employees also have some remarkable qualifications which can convince employers to hire them. Responding rapidly to the changes in modern work places is the first important element which can be clearly observed in young workers. For example, as the fast development of the high-tech industry, youngsters will acquire new technology easier and quicker than older people and this brings many benefits to companies. Furthermore, young people have capacities to deal with pressures at work environments better than older ones. There are many pieces of evidence showed that the majority of older workers quit their jobs because they cannot bear an enormous amount of pressures at work. In conclusion, I think that a mix of best qualities of old and young is preferential to ensure the most productive environment evolves.