Is there any value in studying academic subjects that are not useful in terms of generating wealth for the country?

Chemical usage in the production and preservation of food has been a great concern for some individuals. In my opinion, while there are some benefits of this, the drawbacks such as the effect on the health of consumers and the food loosing its nutritional value cannot be ignored. Admittedly, one of the major benefits of food preservation is longer shelf life. Which simply implies that the food is still consumable after six months to a year. In addition, it is also cost effective for the producers of the product as they can estimate their budget for the year. For example, the manufacturers of baked beans, put the expiring date of six months on their products. Nevertheless, one of the major drawbacks of chemical preservation in food is, it is harmful to the health of the consumers. Most of the chemicals used in preserving food for a long while have been noted to be harmful to the health of the consumers. Some of these chemicals have been associated with causing deadly diseases such as liver failure and cancer that has killed a lot of individuals. For instance, a research by Boston university showed that 50% of the food that is consumed in the United States are chemically grown and has resulted in deteriorating health of her citizens. In addition, chemically laden food is observed to have lost its original nutritional value as compared to the freshly grown produce. To conclude, while a longer shelf life of a product is one of the benefits of food preservation, the demerits such as the health of the consumers and the nutritional value of fresh produce cannot be overemphasized.