Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

Freedom of speech is very important for a citizen to upgrade himself and society. Freedom is a key point to initiate development and bring people closer, start networking and move forward for a mission like the mission of change, the mission of independence etc. Freedom of speaking is necessary for anyone either he is 2 years old kid or 60 years old man. It gives people courage to communicate to make decisions and work on that. For Example Politician: they speak in public places to make the commitments and plans to develop the country. The audiences listen to them patiently, analyse their words and gives approval in the form of votes to win, so that he can get a chance to work on his promises and commitments. Furthermore, freedom is a fragrance of beautiful society. It makes you extrovert and nourishes you to achieve defined goal. Whereas this privileged is only limited to politicians these days. Those who are not politicians and if they speak something true about someone, they can be killed or murdered, if the opponent party is stronger than them. It also limits anyone to take decisions and forces you to think 100 times before speaking in a public place. Hence we become slaves in our own country. Therefore, I truly believe that citizen should have freedom to speak in favour or against of anyone. Facing the problems and keeping quite can bring disaster and put us in soup. Instead of giving up the problems we need to become unite and work together. Likewise, makes the hay when the sun shines.