International tourism is becoming the world’s biggest industry. Unfortunately, it often creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

These days, it has been claimed that more tension than understanding between people from different cultures could be caused by the popularity of international tourism. In my opinion, I disagree with this view as I believe that this trend will promote cultural exchanges worldwide rather than conflicts. On the one hand, it is true that there are some certain conflicts once the tourism industry is sharply developing nowadays. Firstly, debates between nations could stem from language barriers. Indeed, when tourists travel to foreign countries, the difference of language can lead to misunderstanding when communicating with local people, conflicts, as a result will occur. Furthermore, international travellers could negatively impact on local culture. If they have some words or manners which are unsuitable for indigenous culture, they would bother or cause the sense of irritation to local people to some extent. However, I would argue that the development of international tourism could bring more merits for countries in worldwide. One of which is that this trend will boost cultural exchange on a global scale. Thanks to the significant increasing number of global travellers, nowadays traditional performance from Asian has been welcomed in Western countries, while Western fashion trends and model of architecture are spreading to Asian continents. Moreover, this development has stimulated the interest in indigenous cuisine that help hospitality industry witness a dramatic growth all over the world. Since then, it is more likely to promote the better understanding and open attitudes between tourists and local inhabitants. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, it is true that the development of international tourism could create tension to some extent, I am convinced that this trend will help better understanding and even promoting open attitudes among both travellers and local people.