International tourism is becoming the world’s biggest industry. Unfortunately, it often creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

In the era of integration, global tourism development is believed to have to capability to promote cross-border exchange. Although the idea that it will exacerbate the resentment among the international community, I would contend that this trend will rather bring increased mutual understanding than the aforementioned drawbacks. First of all, a direct exposure to foreign cultures through trips will erase cultural prejudices. In other words, when a variety of religious practices are experienced firsthand, they will be better understood rather than considered as some antiquated ritual. For example, daytime fasting during Ramadan in some Muslim region is usually regarded as such an eccentric and meaningless custom, but in fact, it provides local inhabitants with chances for self-reflection and calmness, thus taking back their sense of self. Therefore, if tourists have opportunities to experience the culture, the economy and natural conditions of a nation, they have the comprehensive overviews of the core values of these and the way of life of the local community. Consequently, contradicting values may be understood and accepted leading to the ease of cultural conflicts among countries. The second reason why global tourisms positively affect the understanding among to nations is the fact that it is a two-way process, in which cultural exchange and more open even receptive attitudes are promoted. To illustrate, while in the past, there was a distinct absence of Asian culture in Western countries and vice versa, these days, flocks of western visitors to Asia and vice versa have stimulated further interest in various aspects of culture such as international cuisine, thus helping restaurants of all varieties mushroom globally. In addition to culinary delights, more Eastern values, namely traditional performances, are welcomed into the Western world. Similarly, Western fashion trends and architectural styles are spreading to the East rapidly recent. In conclusion, international tourism has embrace cross-border cultural interactions, thereby, promoting intercultural understanding among nations. As a result, global communities have turned to be culturally sensitive and tolerant of differences, hence, tensions are eased rather than aggravated.