International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The advantages associated with global tourism are obvious. However, there are also concerns about its effects on the ecosystem as well as the indigenous. While there are minor demerits to international travels, I am of the opinion that the significant advantages surpasses the minor demerits. Admittedly, there are less significant demerits to travelling across borders. The first is pollution. Unlike local travels which can be made with the use of cars or trains, travelling across borders is mostly via aeroplanes, which is powered by fuels and emit carbon dioxide. This gas is known to pollute the atmosphere; thus, might make the ecosystem less habitable for living organisms. Another minor pitfall of international travel is the negative effect to the health of the travellers. When travelling, the distance between the planes and the sun is at the minimum; thereby, exposing these people to ultraviolet rays from the sun. Accumulation of these rays is thought to cause serious diseases. For example, a research done at Harvard showed that 70% of people who develop cancer in 2019 were frequent air travellers while the remaining 30% rarely travel via planes. Despite the minor drawbacks above, there are important benefits to international tourism. The first major advantages is revenue. Without a doubt, countries with many tourist sites boasts of an influx of tourists to their countries, which translates to an increase in revenue. For instance, an individual travelling to Germany for vacation will book a flight, accommodation, transportation and eat meals as well. All these generates income for the country. In addition, travelling across the globe is a means of education. More than just entertainment, many schools and colleges make use of sight seeing and global travels to impact knowledge to students outside the classroom. In conclusion, even though, travelling across the globe has its advantages, there are worries with regard to its negative effects. In my opinion, although there are minor pitfalls of international travelling, I believe the more significant pros outweigh the insignificant cons.