International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. What is your opinion about this issue?

International tourism has achieved a remarkable growth over the last few decades. Although the growing arrival of visitors is beneficial to the host countries to some extents, the demerits of the international travel outshine due to the adverse impacts on environmental and national culture. The development of international tourism is a complicated issue with more than one consequence. The most significant effect is on pollution. Particularly, Vehicles carrying foreign tourists such as airplanes, cars and trains discharge tons of greenhouse gas into the air on a daily basis, doing severe damage to the atmosphere. Moreover, visitors are likely to release a huge amount of waste wherever they go. Another detrimental effect is the loss of national identity and traditional values when culture is exploited for tourism purposes. To be more specific, tourism might lead to the assimilation of cultures when minority groups may abandon their own culture to adopt the more dominant ones. For example, Hmong, an ethnics group in Vietnam, was famous for their soothing yet funky music with ethereal melody by their unique handmade instruments. However, because of the booming international travel, they are now under the influence of thumping music through MP3, hence, only a small number of Hmong people can embrace their tradition. A number of drastic measures should be taken to address the problem. The way forward might be to restrict visitor numbers to some national heritages to reserve their natural charms. Another solution to tackle the problem is that the governments should underline the importance of historical attractions and positive tourism, thus, people will become conscious of protecting the environment and heritages. In conclusion, this essay has highlighted two major negative impacts of international tourism to the environment and the host countries’ cultures. Everybody should take action to mitigate the devastating effects of this phenomenon.