International marketing is sometimes seen as invasive and an intrusion into the country in question. Others argue that it is a necessary and economical form of education in addition to spreading ideas, language and culture.

Some people believe the marketing of goods and services across borders of countries is bad for the receiving country's market growth, while others believe it is cheap means of accessing information. This essay will discuss both views and draw examples from developing countries like Nigeria and Ghana. The sale of goods from a company in another country is perceived as aggressive and intrusive because it damages the local economy. Usually, when products by such enterprise come into a country, it negatively affects the sales of similar indigenous products. This is because the homegrown company might not have enough funds to promote the product like the foreign company. For example, it is a well-known fact in Nigeria that the introduction of Kellogg Cornflakes into the local market led to the gradual downturn in Nasco Cornflakes' sales-the only local cereal brand in Nigeria. Nasco could not compete against Kellogg with its exciting advertisements and better packaging; the company eventually closed down after struggling for a couple of months. In contrast, International Marketing can be beneficial for the host country in terms of exposure and knowledge made accessible to the citizenry. Information and resources hitherto not available to these people are passed across by introducing foreign goods into the country. For instance, many families in Nigeria and Ghana did not appreciate the need for protein-filling breakfast until the introduction of Kirkland Egg shakes cereal in both countries. Through the numerous adverts on television, several homes learned the importance of protein-dense diets, healthier ways of taking cereals and paying attention to meals' caloric value. Global Marketing's impact in other countries has plenty of downturns if not properly managed; however, I think it can be essential for the host country if there are effective policies and processes in place to protect the homegrown businesses.