Integrated quest 5: "meeting people"describe the man's problem and the two suggestions that his friend makes about how to handle it. What do you think the man should do, and why?

Scientific research plays an important role in the development of humanity. Some people think that technical studies should be conducted and managed by the government instead of private associations. I believe that both governments and confidential businesses should have the right and duty to do research. It can’t be deniable that the government plays the leading role in carrying out studies because of several reasons. Firstly, all scientific researches need the money and the government is capable of giving economic assistance to them. Moreover, if the project fails to achieve its good result, the government will have the reserves to cope with the losses. Secondly, the government tends to pay more attention to research areas that can benefit society more than seek profit. For instance, studies about renewable energies are very important to deal with global warming. Thirdly, some researches are very dangerous like nuclear power or weapon so they must be supervised by governmental organizations to protect the country’s security. On the other hand, I think that private companies should also share accountability to manage scientific research. As can be seen that this could help to reduce the pressure on the budget of the government. For example, citizens have to pay lower imposts, and the authorities also have more cash to spend on other imperative areas such as education or the army. Furthermore, many useful scientific discoveries have been made by private institutions. The invention of the iPhone by Apple, an establishment in the USA that has opened the era of smartphones and facilitated interaction among people all over the world nowadays, is a great example. However, since the top priority of business is to earn money, they would have more inspiration to conduct research more and more quickly. In conclusion, both administrations and private sectors should have their responsibility for doing and monitoring scientific research in a good way.