Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

There has been an ongoing debate whether people or the government and large companies should do something to maintain the environment. Some believe that people do not have the abilty to do so and that only the goverment and organizations have the influence to do so. I disagree since i believe that individuals equally should be responsible as well as the government and companies to improve the environment. Firstly, individuals should avoid throwing garbage especially, those that are non-degradable such as, plastic, glass and metal, in areas they find convenient instead of the proper garbage bins. Otherwise it could harm the environment as well as, the animals dwelling there. For example, an elephant who died last year for unknown reason, underwent an autopsy and it's stomach was filled with plastic bags and glass pieces. Unfortunately, the reason was due to careless hurling of food to the elephant in plastic bags by tourists and throwing leftover waste into the woods. Secondly, people should start buying recycable and degradable materials like, paper or cloth bags, inorder to store their food and other goods in. In this way, people too play an important role in improving the environment. On the other hand, the ministry and many large companies should be responsible too. The government should allow and encourage people to join certain groups, that are concerned about the environment and try their best to clean and maintain waste filled areas. Moreover, industries should avoid throwing their waste into oceans, and other areas instead of disposing their waste in the proper way. For instance, the Nuwara wewa, which is a large lake in Srilanka, attracted alot of negative response in 2015 when shoals of fish started dying. It was found out that, a nearby oil industry, is responsible for this due to the dumping of nonusable oil into the lake. In conclusion, i believe that people as well as the government and large companies should make an effort to improve the environ ment by switching to recycable products and by properly dumping their wastes into trash cans or landfills.