Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

Gretha Thunberg's campaign in favour of environment protection has promoted the idea that each person can contribute to this effort. The fact that the ecological crisis is a global issue raises the question of the limits of individual decisions. Can individuals do anything for the environment? This essay will argue that even though larger organizations represent the most relevant scale, individuals have to take their part into the fight agaisnt global warming. First of all, large companies and governments are the most relevant scale to save the planet. The former can change their way of production into a cleaner one whereas the latter can regulate. On the one hand, states have a major role to play because of their coercion power. In addition, smaller scales of political power must be involved such as municipality. For example, Paris has decided to start forbiding the most polluting cars. On the other hand, companies which pollutes can decide to stop producting goods that hurt the planet. For instance, Airbus tries to design new planes that needs less polluting components. Nonetheless, individuals are also able to make a small difference. In effect, it would be too easy to put on structures the whole responsibility for climate change. Deciding to use less water or taking the train instead of the plane should be considered as very effective ways of improving the environment. Producing certain meats such as beef requires much water and plants to make animal grow. As a consequence, reducing one's consumption could be useful to protect our ressources. To conclude, I would say that both structures and individuals have to feel concerned about climate change. The democratic system permits us to force these structures changing their point of view. Finally, individuals have to understand that they are part of the structures they criticize and that they have the power.