Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

It is believed by some individuals that big establishments and the government are the only ones who can influence the society to be better and not the citizens. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea because there is a lot the people can do. They live and work there and are the best to either make or mar their environment. Firstly, a community comprises of individuals living or working together. Hence, the responsibility of caring for the place lies on them. Furthermore, adopting simple attribute such as avoiding the dumping of refuse inappropriately or preventing the emission of air pollutants from car engines and domestic fumes will contribute to the overall maintenance of the surrounding. For example, Malaysia became one of the neatest countries worldwide because it was mandatory for every home to have a garbage and recycle bin. This was also made availabl at every street corner. Thus, the earlier the indigienes stand up to their responsibilities the better for them. Secondly, little drops of water makes an ocean. In essence, if everyone imbibes an attitude of cleanliness constantly, it will culminate into having an enviable society. For instance, it is a rule in my neighbourhood that every household must be involved in the weekly sanitation of the community and this simple practice has paid off for us such that in the last 5 years, there has been no need for the authorities to repair or replace anything on our street. In conclusion, waiting for the government or big companies to come an make a difference in the environment is synonymous to laziness on the part of the people. The onus lies on them to make an indelible mark in their various metropolis