Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

Nowadays, environmental protection has become one of the most important issues the public are concerned with. While some people deem that it is the responsibility of the government and big companies to protect the environment because they hold the power and the resources necessary while individuals are too feeble to make an effort, however, personally I believe that every individual can make a difference. There is an old saying goes as: ‘Drop by drop fills the tub’. This means that individuals do have the capacity to save our motherland if they band together and move towards the same direction. For example, if everyone in China saves one piece of paper every day, nearly a million trees can be saved in one day. Therefore, we must realize the power of each person and shoulder our own responsibility. Moreover, the most important thing must be the effect on big companies and factories caused by public awareness and habits. Specifically, environment-friendly behaviors of the public can largely influence the business strategies of big companies. For example, when disposable plastic bags are not popular anymore in the market, the manufacturers will stop their production and find eco-friendly replacements such as fabric bags. Thus, the power of individuals is maximized and makes a big difference. However, that is not to say we should ignore the responsibility of the government and big companies. Admittedly, in solving some large-scale problems like deforestation and greenhouse effect, the government and big companies should fully harness their technology and power to come up with strategic plans. In conclusion, the connection of every part of society wield a significant role to protect the environment. Only in this way can we assure that we can hand over the planet to our next generation.