Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a big difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that improving environmental quality is the responsibility of the government and large companies instead of the citizens. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this statement. On the one hand, many people strongly suppose that the responsibility for environmental protection totally belongs to the government and the environmental companies. The main reason is that only people who have authority in the state apparatus or in our lives can have enough power to make policies or strategies to preserve and improve the quality of the environment. For example, the prime minister can enact the law and require all the citizens to put the law in practice. Therefore, the role of authority and big companies are very essential in protecting and solving environment-related problems. On the other hand, I believe that dealing with environmental problems is not only the responsibility of the government but also the responsibility and the awareness of the inhabitants. Firstly, more brains are much better than only one brain. That means when the residents altogether solve the environmental issues, the air quality and other parts of the environment will be significantly improved. Moreover, the local people are the main labourers to follow the law enacted by the authority and the strategies of big companies. Without them, those policies and strategies cannot be put into practice and the quality of the environment may not be improved. For instance, when a new law is promulgated by the government but the citizens do not pay any attention to it, the issues of the environment cannot be solved completely. As a result, local citizens play an important role in dealing with environmental problems and improving the quality of the air. In conclusion, although many people strongly suppose that the role of authority and the big companies cannot be instead in dealing with problems of the environment, I totally believe that the combination between the inhabitants and the authority is the key to solving these environmental issues completely.