Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference.

There is a growing debate on who should be responsible for making the environment better. It is believed by some that individuals have no role to play as big organizations and government ought to be solely saddled with the responsibility. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this as I believe that achieving a serene and developed environment is a collective responsibility of both governing agencies, companies and the entire populace. To start with, individuals participating in environmental improvement will bring about fast-paced development and a serene society to live in. Although governing agencies and large organization are majorly saddled with the responsibility of legislating laws and providing amenities for people to live comfortably, adhering to rules and regulation on the part of the individuals will ensure progress of the society, hence, the role of the populace in achieving growth and development cannot be overemphasized. For instance, many of the amenities and artifacts put in place to benefit people and beautify the environment in Lagos have been destroyed or stolen by unscrupulous inhabitants. This further helps to drawback environmental progress. Furthermore, the burden of a deteriorated environment is felt more by the people and as such, individuals should be devoted to collaborating with governments and big companies to ensure a growing society is achieved. To illustrate further, governments sometimes are incapacitated and most times not privy to information on the true state of things in our neighborhood. Therefore, it becomes the duty of the populace to render assistance through suggestion of innovative ideas, constructive criticism and report of societal ills to concerned agencies. For instance, Ilopoju, a rural town in Oyo State, Nigeria, was able to curb incessant banditry in the area by way of people giving police strategic information about the perpetrators of the menace. In conclusion, to ameliorate the environment, I believe there is a need for a collaborative effort from individuals, governing agencies and big companies as a whole and only when this happens can a significant progressed be achieved in the society