Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A wide range of feasible measures have been proposed in an attempt to enhance the quality of air and mitigate traffic congestion problem. While I hold the view that an increase in the price of fuels can temporarily address these issues, there are some other remedies which could be more effective in the long run. There is a common fallacy that a rise in the cost of petrol could sustainably tackle challenges of air contamination and traffic congestion. An increased expense of petrol might well deter citizens from using their personal cars in the short term, but in the long run, inhabitants would almost certainly adapt to the new pricing system and use their personal vehicles as frequently, if not more. What causes this is that by a mere soar in the price of petrol the demand for transportation will not disappear, and a lack of more efficient, alternative policy tend to make inhabitants of a nation return to their former trends. For instance, by putting a higher price on gasoline in 2019, not only were not traffic or pollutant issues mitigated by Iranian government, but this country is currently experiencing more intense traffic jam as well as worse quality of air in major cities. This convinces me to believe more sustainable practices are required. In addressing the problem pollutants in the air pose, perhaps a more attainable policy would be appliance of cutting-edge pollution-free technologies by factories. As a result of this practice, the amount of greenhouse gases in exhaust fumes in factories will probably reduce, making them more environmentally friendly. Moreover, to address the challenge of intense traffic jam, a more viable option seems to be developing rail and subway systems. Trains are capable of transporting a vast number of passengers, and do not have to go through traffic lights and intersections. Benefited from these advantages, developed subway and railway would probably ensure less use of private vehicles, which may subsequently tackle the problem of traffic congestion successfully. In conclusion, in my opinion although setting a more expensive price on petrol may cause a temporary decreased levels of car usage among citizens, environmentally friendly technological advances in addition to developed subway and railway systems might well lead to more sustainable, favorable outcomes. @EWN_Admin #sample