Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

The most effective means of resolving the growing problem of traffic and pollution is by raising the cost of fossil fuel. I totally agree with this view because it will lead to a decrease in the number of automobile on the roads. Also, constructing more roads and bridges is another excellent means to curb this menace. The reason why increasing the cost of petrol would resolve the problem of traffic and pollution is that there will be less cars on the roads. People may not cope with the high cost. Families with more than one car will have to either drive one car or make use of public transportation, thereby reducing gridlock and pollution caused by the release of carbon monoxide from the cars. For example, in 2011, the President of Nigeria, Goodluck Jonathan, abolished the payment of petrol subsidy. This act increased the price of fossil fuel from eighty seven naira to one hundred and forty five naira. Consequently, many people stopped using private cars. In addition, I consider the construction of more roads and bridges an excellent step in curbing this growing menace. In other words, better road networks and bridges would ensure free flow of movements because there will be alternative routes for commuters. Lagos State, for example, started the construction of roads and bridges in 2015, and this has helped to greatly reduce traffic congestion and pollutants in the air. In conclusion, I completely agree that the increase in petrol price will decrease the number of cars on the roads, and the construction of more roads and bridges is a useful step to curb the menace of traffic and pollution.