In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and example to support your answer.

Nowadays, it has become quite commonplace for individuals across the world to have their own guns at homes and use it for various purposes such as self-defense and recreational activities. Despite the fact that this allowance might offer a number of advantages to their privileged owners, I strongly believe that its numerous irreversible negative implications would definitely outweigh the positives. Analyzing the detrimental impacts of such an unregulated gun ownership on promoting heinous comes, criminal activities, and suicide in the society are corroborating evidence to such a stance that will be elaborated on, in further details, in this essay. Firstly, it is intuitively obvious that having a gun in a household endangers children and teenagers. This is because minors do not have the requisite knowledge or maturity to handle guns safely. For example, the US Department of Justice recently revealed statistics showing that 150 American children and teenagers die each year because of accidents relating to household guns. Therefore it is incontrovertible that household guns lead to additional shootings. Secondly, household guns become especially dangerous when spouses have violent arguments. This is because male sexual rage, in particular, often results in deadly aggression. For example, The International Crime Bureau recently produced statistical evidence that – if there is a household gun – a man is twice as likely (if he discovers his wife having an affair) to kill her in a fit of jealous rage. Therefore, once again, household guns correlate positively with additional shootings. In conclusion, there is undeniable evidence that having a gun in a house leads to further shootings. Given the strength of this evidence, in the future, more legislature needs to be put in place to limit private gun ownership.