Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

How can we tackle the issue of air pollution and traffic congestion? It is suggested that the most effective way to solve this problem is to inflate the cost of petroleum. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea as other methods Such as encouraging the use of public transportation and growth of trees will solve this problem better. First of all, increasing the cost of fuel will only worsen the situation, because a large percentage of car owners are in the middle and upper class of the community and as a result of this they will be able to afford the fuel. This will lead to more air pollution and traffic problems. On the other hand, a more efficient way to tackle this issue is by encouraging more travellers to utilize the public transportation system. People feel reluctant to use this system because they are not functioning properly and the crime rate around these stations are high. If people start using the subways, it will reduce the amount of vehicle on the road thus reducing traffic and air pollution. For example, China has the lowest record of air pollution and the least traffic issues in the world since they opened twenty train stations ten years ago. This has solved their problem ever since. Furthermore, planting of trees will also help with the air pollution. Trees are the earth's lungs because they absorb the bad carbon dioxide gas that is being produced by vehicles, but the atmosphere and in turn gives us humidified and pure oxygen. Therefore, investment of time and resources to grow these trees will be effective in tackling air pollution. To illustrate this point, the Caribbean countries have the lowest record of air pollution, according to the recent data released by the World Environmental Body. They identified that the primary reason for this was that they had a lot of trees in their environment. To conclude, although at a glance, increasing the price of petroleum might seem as the solution, it will only empower the rich and deteriorate the situation. I believe that allowing people to have access to public transportation and growing of more trees are better ways to battle the traffic and pollution issues.