Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The increased use of vehicles causes traffic congestion and pollution. However I oppose the view that by uplifting the price of petrol could solve this issue to a certain extent. In this essay I deal with the reasons for my opinion and discuss other measures to tackle this problem. First of all, in this modern world people depend on private vehicles more for travelling. It helps them from the inconvenience of public transportation. Therefore they never mind the petroleum price. For example, developing countries like India, the price of petrol increasing day by day basis. But still huge number of people using own vehicles especially working professionals and traffic and pollution are high in cities such as Delhi. So petrol price have less impact on these issues. I recommend two other measures to reduce pollution and traffic. Firstly, encourage production of electric vehicles. If people get electric vehicles at a low price, they would definitely use it. Secondly, government should improve facilities in public transportation. When more people travel in public buses, traffic problem resolve simultaneously. By these measures we can reduce pollution and traffic. In conclusion, increasing petrol value is not the best method to diminish pollution and traffic congestion. electric vehicles and improved public transportation are the best ways to solve this issue.