Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Environmental issues are one of the most considerable problems around the world and governments have been making their greatest efforts to deal with it. Rising petrol prices have always been one of the methods. To a certain extent, this is an effective method. However, other measures like discounts on public transport can be alternatives to solve the problems faced. Firstly, there is a relatively low effect on high - income families. Undoubtedly, many low-and-middle income families have already been purchasing fewer private cars in recent years once the petrol cost takes a higher portion of their income. However, to those who are richer, these small increases in price may seem nothing to them as they still get lots to spend. To deal with this situation, changing from the roots is what the government should be doing. As mentioned, to change the roots planted for long, educating people to change their lifestyle may be a better way to deal with this problem. For example, in Macau, the government offers discounts to students and the elderly for them to consume the public transport more, rather than driving their own cars. This works successfully with new data supported where the air pollutant concentration has 1. 5% lowered, compared to the time before this policy started. In conclusion, rising petrol prices can be useful when it comes to people who are not that rich. However, effects on the rich may not be that significant. Alternatives like offering discounts on public transport can be a more effective methods of solving this environmental issue as data from Macau has shown it works.