Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. what other measures do you think might be effective?

It is believed by some people that raising the price of petrol can solve the ever increasing traffic problem and pollution. In my opinion, I disagree with this belief because it will primarily affect people of low socioeconomic status and there are several other ways to control the pollution problem. The rise in price of fuel to control traffic and pollution is not a good idea as it will primarily affect poor people who already are hand to mouth when it comes to finances. The rich people who already are consuming huge amounts of fuel and contributing to the air pollution will have no effects on their lives, whereas, poor people have to cut down expenditure from grocery or other domestic bills. Their difficult lives will become even tougher with this price hike and will have very little effect on pollution as they contribute to a very small proportion of traffic. Hence price hike is not a good option to solve traffic problems or atmospheric pollution. There are several measures which government can take to control the traffic and pollution. Firstly, the public transport like metro buses and railway tracks should be improved so that people will start travelling in them rather than individual cars which will drastically reduce the consumption of gasoline and eventually less traffic. Secondly, the tax on hybrid cars should be reduced as they consume less oil and hence environmentally friendly. If the prices of these cars are low, people will start purchasing them. Hence, it will be beneficial for both the rulers and individuals in terms of fuel economy. Thirdly, few old worn out cars are responsible for the majority of the carbon dioxide emissions and maximum fuel consumption. Removal of these cars from traffic and replacing them with fuel efficient hybrid cars will successfully control the pollution and it is not possible without governments’ active participation. In conclusion, price hike of petrol is not a good option to control traffic problems rather the improvement of local transport and introduction of fuel efficient hybrid cars are better options.