In your country, is there more need for land to be left in its natural condition or is there more need for land to be developed for housing and industry? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While a marriage function signifies the starting of a married life, it is observed, in this day and age, the expenses of marital celebrations have increased tenfold. This is because of the increased level of income and an influence of celebrities. In my opinion, it is an adverse trend as it increases unnecessary expenses. There are several reasons for grand weddings. Firstly, there is an increase in the income level of people because of ever growing globalisation. Multinational companies have their subsidiaries all over the world, offering high packages. Secondly, because of social media, normal people have access to the actors and elite peoples' marriages. Youngsters tend to get influenced by the photographs and videos shared by celebrities and then they try to replicate their weddings like them. Take a recent survey done by The Big Fat Indian Wedding Industry for example. This survey highlights that the concept of destination wedding has increased at a mammoth rate. This example speaks volume about the craze of lavish weddings and the root cause behind it. In my opinion, this affects the society negatively because it increases unwanted spending. It is needless to say that fancy weddings often burn a hole in one’s pocket because of the cost involved in the preparation. This not only hampers the savings of an individual, but also increases consumerism. Case in point, Japan government has recently released a survey stating middle class couples avail loans to execute their extravagant weddings. This example illustrates that how individuals are shelling out all their savings to execute their larger than life marriage ceremonies. In conclusion, after gauging the above two points, it would be suitable to say that expensive weddings are the results of increased earnings and influence of wealthy people. I believe this is a negative development as it increases excessive expenses.