Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used.

Children can learn by using either the online reading material or printed material. The former approach is preferred by some people, but I believe that reading through printed material is better. Learning through online reading material provides some benefits to the children. Firstly, this method could make the reading more flexible and provide additional assistance. For example, if the child needs to look for a particular keyword, he could do a simple keyword search. Also, if the material has some other references, and unfamiliar vocabulary, it could be easily searched over the web. However, this approach also has some drawbacks such as, the children could easily get distracted once they are on some kind of device like a computer or a tablet. To exemplify, they could access the internet, social media or play games on the device. Learning through printed material provides more advantages to children. Firstly, they have fewer distractions and can study in a more focused way. For instance, they just have the material in hand and no other devices. Even if there is a need to refer some material, they could simply underline those words and later once they finish reading, these could refer to these words by searching the web or asking someone. In addition, learning from the printed material reduces strain on the eyes. To illustrate, the blue light from the devices is harmful to the eyes. In conclusion, online reading materials provide flexibility for the children while learning, but cause more distraction. On the other hand, learning through the printed materials is better as it improves the focus and reduces eye strain.