In times of economic crisis, in which field do you think the government can cut financial support? 1. Art2. Scientific research3. Parks and public gardens

Economic crisis has been occurring periodically in the Western world for a hundred of years, since the Great Depression in the last century. When crisis is coming, government always have to cut financial support for some fields, due to the shrunken tax income. If I were governor, I’d like to withdraw fund from art or parks and public gardens, but never form scientific research. Cutting scientific investment is definitely the last option to be considered. On the contrary, every wise man knows for certain that more fund should be distributed to scientific research during economic crisis. Scientific breakthrough and technological revolution is entitled the most powerful engine for economic prosperity. History is replete with evidence to demonstrate this point. If it were not for the invention of steam engine, we would still use wagons as main method of transportation today. As a result, long-distance trade would be every slow and inefficient, which apparently has a negative effect on economy. If it were not for the large-scale application of electricity, we would still use candles for illumination. Without the assistance of light bulb, available working time for human would be limited within the daytime. How can you expect us to go through economic crisis, but do not provide us enough time to work? According to history, scientific research is definitely the most promising field to invest in times of economic crisis. Any significant breakthrough or revolutionary invention is adequate to lead us out of the crisis. Compared with scientific research, art or parks and public gardens are relatively less critical to us, especially under the pressure of economic crisis. They can’t directly help us with the crisis, although they play a positive role in our lives. If the tight budget during crisis forces government to cut financial support in some fields, they are ideal options. The fund saved from them can be applied to realms, which is helpful for surviving a economic crisis, like education, science, infrastructure or other economic stimulation policies. Once the crisis passes, government can inject sufficient capital into art field or parks and public gardens again as an offset to the financial cut during crisis. In summary, given the close relationship between scientific advancement and economic development, reducing scientific fund is always my last option. As for art or parks and public gardens, cutting their financial support are acceptable, if it is necessary.