In the past, shopping was seen to be a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. Do you think this is a positive trend?

It is argued that shopping was viewed as a household chore in earlier times. These days some men and women consider it a pastime. I believe it is a negative development because people spend money on unnecessary things and getting in debt, and it is a very unproductive hobby. The main reason why it is a negative trend is that people buy products that they do not really need and it resulted in increasing debts. In other words, these days credit facility is available almost everywhere and people unnecessary purchase things from their credit cards. As a result, they end up paying EMIs for months and this can have a huge impact on their finances. For example, a research done by the Times of India in the year 2017, revealed that 40% of the middle-class people use credit cards for shopping and pay monthly in installments. Another reason to consider is that shopping is not a productive thing and it wastes a lot of time. That is to say that shopping does not help people to develop either physically or intellectually. However, other pastime activities such as sports, reading books or even watching movies can be beneficial for physical and mental development. For instance, most of my friends who spend their weekends shopping have nothing else to talk about, other than their purchases, whereas my friends who use their time wisely are more interesting to talk to. To conclude, in earlier years people consider consumerization as a regular household chore. Some people take in as a leisure activity at the present time. I believe that it is a negative trend because people waste money on unnecessary products, which in result increases debts on them and there are more constructive ways for people to spend their free time.