In the past, when the students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development

Studying abroad is becoming increasingly popular among the students in recent years. While it provides them with valuable exposure, they may incur huge costs when they opt for this option. This essay will point out major benefits of studying as an international student, while also highlighting its drawbacks. Although education in a foreign land may be a costly venture, it has several advantages. Schooling overseas exposes an individual to a different environment and culture. The students learn valuable adaptive and surviving skills which are the key factors required to grow personally, and professionally as well. A recent survey reported that individuals holding foreign qualifications are favorited by most employers nowadays, as they are more suited for top management and leadership vacancies in the country. Therefore, overseas education is proved to be beneficial for not only the individual, but the economy as well. Studying as an international student may have it plus points, there may be some setbacks as well. Most families who send their children abroad for studies, spend a major chunk from their life saving and retirement money. It can take up to 7-10 years before their investment can materialize any return in the form of better career for their child. Another problem would be the rising number of students not returning after completion of their studies. A study in 2018 revealed that around 60% of the foreign qualified students don’t return to their home country, and prefer to seek employment elsewhere. This growing trend depletes the economy of worthy and talented individuals, as their experience and skill set are important ingredients needed for developing the home economy. To conclude, while education in a foreign land can advantageous for both the students and the economy, it can affect negatively as well if the number of students not returning keeps at this level. This essay has analysed both the pros and cons of studying abroad.